A Guide to Worcester Race Course

A Guide To Worcester Race Course

Until 1966 Worcester racecourse only held Flat Racing meetings, but since then now only runs National Hunt races. Known locally as Pitchcroft, it stages 20 National Hunt meetings between May and October.

The two most prestigious race on its calendar are the Valerie Lewis memorial Handicap Chase and the Richard Davis Memorial Chase.

The former is named after the co-owner of three time Cheltenham Gold Cup Winner Best Mate, and takes place over two miles and 4 furlongs in every June. The latter is run over the same distance in October.

The course is a left handed oval circuit with a short spur at one end. The course is generally flat and as seen as a good track to let novice horses gain racecourse experience.

The course circuit is 1 miles and 5 furlongs in distance and has easy turns. The Chase course has 8 fences of which only one is an open ditch, whilst the Hurdle track has 6 fences to negotiate.

Bullet Points

  • Left handed track
  • Relatively flat with easy turns
  • Course distance of 1 mile and 5 furlongs
  • A good course for novice horses to learn on

Map of Worcester Racecourse

Map of Worcester Racecourse for daily racing tips

Statistics – Last Three Years

Top Trainers – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

M Twiston-Davies              22                   8                      7

D Skelton                              33                   7                      15

P Bowen                               31                   7                      11

Dr R Newland                      17                   7                      7

J O’Neill                                 35                   6                      13                              


Top Trainers – Hurdle

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

Dr R Newland                      41                   15                   14

P Hobbs                                36                   14                   9

D Skelton                              83                   13                   30

D Pipe                                    49                   10                   17

N Mulholland                      77                   8                      25                                                                  


Top Trainers – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

N Henderson                       9                      4                      4

J O’Neill                                 8                      2                      4

P Bowen                               7                      2                      3

A King                                    5                      2                      0

D Skelton                              5                      1                      3


Top Jockeys – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

S Twiston-Davies                41                   13                   19

S Bowen                                36                   8                      16

R Johnson                             47                   6                      26

H Skelton                              30                   5                      15

A Coleman                            30                   5                      11



Top Jockeys – Hurdle

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

R Johnson                             89                   21                   36

H Skelton                              70                   13                   28

T Scudamore                       66                   12                   21

S Twiston-Davies                56                   12                   19

A Coleman                            79                   11                   32 


Top Jockeys – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

R Johnson                             15                   3                      7

S Bowen                                8                      2                      3

T  O’Brien                             5                      2                      3

J Bowen                                7                      2                      2

W Hutchinson                     5                      2                      0                                                         


Course Address

Worcester Racecourse




A Guide To Worcester Race Course

Bet £10 on Horse Racing and get another £40 of bets

BetVictor are giving all New Players £40 of bets when you sign up and Bet your first £10.

You will need to opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet on Horse Racing at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account.

100% Matched Deposit Bonus up to £100

SportsNation – The Cashback Bookmaker – offer different bets across its Sportsbook and Casino every day. Not only that but each bet you place will earn you points that you can redeem for other offers including cash back, deposit bonuses and Free Bets. The latest offer allows you a matched First Deposit Bonus of 100% up to £100!

New Player Offer – Bet £10 get £30 in Free Bets

This offer is only available to New Players to William Hill and consists of £30 in free bets and a £10 bonus to use in their online casino. To qualify for this offer you must enter the promo code C40 when you sign up.

This guide to Worcester Race Course should now help you to make more informed choices when you are deciding which bets to place. Using this in conjunction with our Daily Free Tips could help you get the edge over the bookies!

Why not sign up to one of our Partner Online Bookmakers and claim a New Player reward?

And dont forget – if you want to know our own Free Daily Tips you can follow us on our Twitter feed.

Is this Guide To Worcester Race Course not what you were looking for? Click here to go back to our Racecourse Guides and have a look at another UK race course.