A Guide to Stratford Race Course

A Guide To Stratford Race Course

Located in Warwickshire, England, Stratford racecourse opened in 1769 and is one of the more relaxed course for visitors to attend and hold race meetings between March and November each year.

The two main races at Stratford are the Foxhunters Champion Chase , which after the Cheltenham and Aintree Foxhunters is the next most prestigious and part of the Foxhunter Crown. It is raced over 3 miles and 4 furlongs.

The other race is the Stratford Summer Cup, which takes place in July and is raced over 2 miles and 1 furlong.

The course is triangle shaped with rounded ends making for tight corners. It is left handed.  The fences are challenging which leads to a lot of fallers or unseated riders.

The track is 1 mile and two furlongs long and is generally flat. The Chase course has 8 jumps, whilst the Hurdles course has only five. Both courses have a short finishing straight.

Bullet Points

  • Left handed tracks
  • Sharp bends
  • Short run in to the finishing line
  • Challenging fences

Map of Stratford Racecourse

Map of Stratford Racecourse for daily racing tips

Statistics – Last Three Years

Top Trainers – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

D Skelton                              28                   11                   9

N Twiston-Davies               21                   8                      6

P Bowen                               28                   7                      11

Dr R Newland                      15                   6                      3

N King                                    14                   5                      4


Top Trainers – Hurdle

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

D Skelton                              65                   10                   28

D McCain Jr                          28                   9                      10

O Murphy                            58                   7                      17

Dr R Newland                      21                   8                      10

F O’Brien                              26                   5                      10                  


Top Trainers – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

O Murphy                            8                      2                      5

T Vaughan                            6                      2                      0

T George                               4                      2                      0

F O’Brien                              7                      1                      5

N Twiston-Davies               6                      1                      4



Top Jockeys – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

S Twiston-Davies                37                   14                   11

H Skelton                              22                   11                   5

A Coleman                            28                   6                      12

R Johnson                             34                   5                      15

S Bowen                                29                   5                      11      


Top Jockeys – Hurdle

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

R Johnson                             47                   17                   18

H Skelton                              41                   8                      19

B Hughes                              23                   8                      5

S Twiston-Davies                40                   6                      16

A Coleman                            29                   6                      8                     


Top Jockeys – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

R Johnson                             11                   2                      6

S Twiston-Davies                7                      2                      3

J Bowen                                5                      2                      2

P Brennan                            10                   1                      6

A Coleman                            7                      1                      4


Course Address

Stratford-upon-Avon Racecourse

Luddington Road



CV37 9SE

A Guide To Stratford Race Course

Bet £10 on Horse Racing and get another £40 of bets

BetVictor are giving all New Players £40 of bets when you sign up and Bet your first £10.

You will need to opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet on Horse Racing at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account.

100% Matched Deposit Bonus up to £100

SportsNation – The Cashback Bookmaker – offer different bets across its Sportsbook and Casino every day. Not only that but each bet you place will earn you points that you can redeem for other offers including cash back, deposit bonuses and Free Bets. The latest offer allows you a matched First Deposit Bonus of 100% up to £100!

New Player Offer – Bet £10 get £30 in Free Bets

This offer is only available to New Players to William Hill and consists of £30 in free bets and a £10 bonus to use in their online casino. To qualify for this offer you must enter the promo code C40 when you sign up.

This guide to Stratford Race Course should now help you to make more informed choices when you are deciding which bets to place. Using this in conjunction with our Daily Free Tips could help you get the edge over the bookies!

Why not sign up to one of our Partner Online Bookmakers and claim a New Player reward?

And dont forget – if you want to know our own Free Daily Tips you can follow us on our Twitter feed.

Is this Guide To Stratford Race Course not what you were looking for? Click here to go back to our Racecourse Guides and have a look at another UK race course.