A Guide to Southwell Race Course

A Guide To Southwell Race Course

Southwell, near Nottingham in England is one of the UKs busiest racetracks due to in not only hosting Hurdles and Nation Hunt races, but also due to it having an All Weather track as well. Southwell is one of only six venues in the United Kingdom to have an All Weather track.

The All Weather track runs around the outside of the turf course and is the only track to use Fibresand as its base. Fibresand is a base that is harder for horses to run on that other all weather bases such as Polytrack or Tapeta. As such the All Weather track, although artificial acts as though the ground is Soft.

The All Weather track is left handed and set in a typical Oval shape which is 1 mile and 2 furlongs in distance. A spur allows for straight sprints at the course.

The turf track runs on the inside of the course and is used for both Hurdles and Jumps. Southwell has been prone to flood in the past which made going uncertain at race meetings due to the non conformist nature of the ground.  Again it is a left handed track that is very tight and only about 1 mile in distance with a 22 yards run in.

The Hurdles course has 5 jumps to navigate, whilst the Jumps course has 7 fences including an open ditch.

Bullet Points

  • All weather track is nearly always Soft going.
  • All weather track is 1 mile and 2 furlongs in distance
  • Both tracks are left handed
  • Turf track is tight and only 1 mile long

Map of Southwell All Weather Racecourse

Map of Southwell All weather Racecourse

Map of Southwell Turf Racecourse

Map of Southwell for daily racing tips

Statistics – Last Three Years

Top Trainers – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

D Skelton                              30                   14                   9

J O’Neill                                 22                   6                      4

P Bowen                               16                   5                      5

N King                                    13                   4                      6

L Morgan                              14                   4                      4         


Top Trainers – Hurdle

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

D Skelton                              85                   18                   34

H Whittington                     21                   9                      6

Dr R Newland                      18                   8                      9

O Murphy                            52                   7                      19

B Pauling                               28                   7                      11      


Top Trainers – National Hunt Flat


                                                Runners        Wins               Places

F O’Brien                              11                   4                      4

A King                                    7                      4                      2

D McCain Jr                          5                      3                      2

D Skelton                              11                   2                      5

B Ellison                                 6                      2                      3


Top Trainers – Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Placces

M Appleby                           488                 59                   187

K Burke                                 161                 36                   65

S Dixon                                  377                 27                   138

I Furtado                               136                 20                   39

R Fahey                                 124                 19                   44                              


Top Jockeys – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

H Skelton                              25                   10                   7

S Bowen                                29                   8                      11

A Coleman                            21                   6                      5

R Johnson                             23                   9                      12

J Burke                                  24                   5                      11      


Top Jockeys – Hurdle

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

H Skelton                              65                   17                   31

R Johnson                             58                   13                   26

S Twiston-Davies                29                   9                      13

G Sheehan                            28                   9                      5

N de Boinville                      29                   8                      10                  


Top Jockeys – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

B Hughes                              11                   5                      4

R Johnson                             8                      3                      2

J Bowen                                4                      3                      0

A Coleman                            7                      2                      3

H Skelton                              7                      2                      3


Top Jockeys – Flat

B Curtis                                  193                 43                   70

L Morris                                345                 29                   138

A Rawlinson                         175                 24                   66

K O’Neill                                231                 23                   91

A Mullen                               220                 20                   64                              



Course Address

Southwell Racecourse Ltd


Near Newark


NG25 0TS

A Guide To Southwell Race Course

Bet £10 on Horse Racing and get another £40 of bets

BetVictor are giving all New Players £40 of bets when you sign up and Bet your first £10.

You will need to opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet on Horse Racing at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account.

100% Matched Deposit Bonus up to £100

SportsNation – The Cashback Bookmaker – offer different bets across its Sportsbook and Casino every day. Not only that but each bet you place will earn you points that you can redeem for other offers including cash back, deposit bonuses and Free Bets. The latest offer allows you a matched First Deposit Bonus of 100% up to £100!

New Player Offer – Bet £10 get £30 in Free Bets

This offer is only available to New Players to William Hill and consists of £30 in free bets and a £10 bonus to use in their online casino. To qualify for this offer you must enter the promo code C40 when you sign up.

This guide to Southwell Race Course should now help you to make more informed choices when you are deciding which bets to place. Using this in conjunction with our Daily Free Tips could help you get the edge over the bookies!

Why not sign up to one of our Partner Online Bookmakers and claim a New Player reward?

And dont forget – if you want to know our own Free Daily Tips you can follow us on our Twitter feed.

Is this Guide To Southwell Race Course not what you were looking for? Click here to go back to our Racecourse Guides and have a look at another UK race course.