A Guide to Sedgefield Race Course

A Guide To Sedgefield Race Course

Sedgefield racecourse is located in the North East of England and officially recognised race meetings have been recorded there as far back as 1846.

In the 1900s Sedgefield started to undergo a series of improvements to the course and to the surrounding facilities. However everything was nearly undone when in 1999 three riderless horses were  killed when they ran the wrong way up the track and into the competing field.

For many years the run in at Sedgefield was longer that that at the Aintree Grand National. The course has since been altered to give a normal length run in.

Jumping takes place all year round at Sedgefield and the calendar highlight is the Durham National Handicap Chase. This is unusually run over a distance of 3 miles and 8 furlongs.

The course is a left handed, undulating loop with a pronounced curve in one corner. The circuit is 1 mile and 2 furlongs in distance. The Chase course has 8 fences to jump, with one of them being an open ditch. The Hurdles track has 5 hurdles to overcome.

Bullet Points

  • Left handed course
  • Course length is 1 mile and 2 furlongs long
  • Eight relatively easy fences on the National Hunt course
  • 5 jumps on the Hurdles course

Map of Sedgefield Racecourse

Map of Sedgefield Racecourse for daily racing tips

Statistics – Last Three Years

Top Trainers – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

M Hammond                       65                   9                      28

S Smith                                  49                   9                      22

B Ellison                                 28                   8                      14

J Foster                                  27                   6                      9

S Drake                                 22                   4                      9                     


Top Trainers – Hurdle

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

D McCain Jr                          121                 19                   59

P Kirby                                   55                   14                   24

B Ellison                                 51                   12                   24

M Hammond                       97                   11                   28

S Smith                                  41                   8                      17      


Top Trainers – National Hunt Flat


                                                Runners        Wins               Places

O Murphy                            6                      3                      3

D McCain Jr                          11                   2                      7

B Ellison                                 10                   2                      6

C Grant                                  9                      2                      3

P Kirby                                   9                      1                      4                                 


Top Jockeys – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

B Hughes                              61                   18                   30

D Cook                                  41                   10                   20

H Brooke                              34                   7                      12

R Chapman                          20                   6                      8

R McLermon                        24                   5                      9         


Top Jockeys – Hurdle

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

B Hughes                              126                 26                   61

S Quinlan                              76                   14                   25

D Cook                                  54                   11                   22

T Dowson                             41                   10                   16

H Brooke                              73                   9                      22      


Top Jockeys – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

B Hughes                              16                   5                      6

W Kennedy                          6                      2                      3

S Quinlan                              11                   1                      5

D McMenamin                    4                      1                      2

D Jacob                                 3                      1                      2


Course Address

Racecourse Rd



TS21 2HW

A Guide To Sedgefield Race Course

Bet £10 on Horse Racing and get another £40 of bets

BetVictor are giving all New Players £40 of bets when you sign up and Bet your first £10.

You will need to opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet on Horse Racing at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account.

100% Matched Deposit Bonus up to £100

SportsNation – The Cashback Bookmaker – offer different bets across its Sportsbook and Casino every day. Not only that but each bet you place will earn you points that you can redeem for other offers including cash back, deposit bonuses and Free Bets. The latest offer allows you a matched First Deposit Bonus of 100% up to £100!

New Player Offer – Bet £10 get £30 in Free Bets

This offer is only available to New Players to William Hill and consists of £30 in free bets and a £10 bonus to use in their online casino. To qualify for this offer you must enter the promo code C40 when you sign up.

This guide to Sedgefield Race Course should now help you to make more informed choices when you are deciding which bets to place. Using this in conjunction with our Daily Free Tips could help you get the edge over the bookies!

Why not sign up to one of our Partner Online Bookmakers and claim a New Player reward?

And dont forget – if you want to know our own Free Daily Tips you can follow us on our Twitter feed.

Is this Guide To Sedgefield Race Course not what you were looking for? Click here to go back to our Racecourse Guides and have a look at another UK race course.