A Guide to Newton Abbot Race Course

A Guide To Newton Abbot Race Course

Based on the banks of the River Teign in Devon, England, Newton Abbot provides year round racing although its main meetings are found in the Summer months. The course was opened in 1866.

The most prestigious race held at Newton Abbot is the Lord Mildmay Handicap Chase which is a Class 1 race for aged 4 years old. It is run over a distance of 2 miles, 4 furlongs and 216 yards every August.

The course is a tight left handed rectangular shaped course. As the course is only 1 mile a 2 furlongs long and has four sides it can feel for the jockey like the horse is always turning. Add to this that there are 7 fences to jump including an open ditch and a water jump and you need a horse that stays on the bridle.

Bullet Points

  • Tight left handed course
  • 1 mile and two furlongs in length
  • 7 fences including a water jump and an open ditch
  • Short run in after the last fence to the finish

Map of Newton Abbot Racecourse

Map of Newton Abbot Racecourse for daily racing tips

Statistics – Last Three Years

Top Trainers – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

P Nicholls                              41                   12                   22

C Tizzard                               53                   7                      34

J Scott                                    18                   6                      6

T Vaughan                            16                   6                      1

C Williams                             19                   5                      7                            


Top Trainers – Hurdles

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

C Tizzard                               52                   10                   24

D Pipe                                    54                   6                      16

P Nicholls                              27                   6                      12

S Leech                                  24                   6                      7

N Henderson                       19                   6                      6         


Top Trainers – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

P Hobbs                                8                      2                      5

W Kittow                              4                      2                      1

W Greatrex                          5                      1                      1

A Jones                                  4                      1                      1

C Mann                                 2                      1                      1


Top Jockeys – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

S Twiston – Davies             29                   10                   13

R Johnson                             32                   7                      19

T Scudamore                       39                   6                      17

B Frost                                   26                   5                      8

N Schofield                           26                   4                     12                             



Top Jockeys – Hurdles

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

H Cobden                             40                   9                      18

R Johnson                             55                   8                      23

T Scudamore                       61                   6                      15

N Fehily                                 20                   6                      8

T O’Brien                              35                   6                      5



Top Jockeys – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

R Johnson                             12                   5                      5

A Coleman                            3                      2                      0

T Scudamore                       7                      1                      4

T O’Brien                              6                      1                      3

H Cobden                             5                      1                      2                                 


Course Address

Newton Abbot

The Racecourse

Newton Road

Newton Abbot


TQ12 3AF

A Guide To newton Abbot Race Course

Bet £10 on Horse Racing and get another £40 of bets

BetVictor are giving all New Players £40 of bets when you sign up and Bet your first £10.

You will need to opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet on Horse Racing at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account.

100% Matched Deposit Bonus up to £100

SportsNation – The Cashback Bookmaker – offer different bets across its Sportsbook and Casino every day. Not only that but each bet you place will earn you points that you can redeem for other offers including cash back, deposit bonuses and Free Bets. The latest offer allows you a matched First Deposit Bonus of 100% up to £100!

New Player Offer – Bet £10 get £30 in Free Bets

This offer is only available to New Players to William Hill and consists of £30 in free bets and a £10 bonus to use in their online casino. To qualify for this offer you must enter the promo code C40 when you sign up.

This guide to Newton Abbot Race Course should now help you to make more informed choices when you are deciding which bets to place. Using this in conjunction with our Daily Free Tips could help you get the edge over the bookies!

Why not sign up to one of our Partner Online Bookmakers and claim a New Player reward?

And dont forget – if you want to know our own Free Daily Tips you can follow us on our Twitter feed.

Is this Guide To Newton Abbot Race Course not what you were looking for? Click here to go back to our Racecourse Guides and have a look at another UK race course.