A Guide to Ludlow Race Course

A Guide To Ludlow Race Course

Ludlow is a turf based Winter racing track situated in Shropshire, England.

Unusually for a racecourse a road crosses the course. The B4365 cross the racecourse at three separate points and when the course is in use then traffic is stopped.

Ludlow holds 16 meetings per year between October and May.

The Chase course is a classic ‘O’ shape which is right handed and measures 1 mile and 4 furlongs around its circuit. There are 9 fences to navigate including two open ditches and a water jump.

The Hurdles course utilises as external loop between turns 3 and 4 to elongate the track length.  This course only has 6 fences in its circuit with the open ditches and water jump being covered.

Bullet Points

  • Both course are right handed
  • Chase course is 1 mile and 4 furlongs long
  • Hurdles course is slightly longer with only 6 jumps
  • Mainly flat, Hurdles course has more undulations

Map of Ludlow racecourse

Map of Ludlow Racecourse for daily racing tips

Statistics – Last Three Years

Top Trainers – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

P Nicholls                              22                   7                      6

T George                               34                   6                      15

P Hobbs                                25                   5                      16

N Twiston-Davies               29                   5                      10

N Henderson                       15                   5                      6         


Top Trainers – Hurdle

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

D Skelton                              63                   10                   27

P Hobbs                    `           39                   10                   16

N Henderson                       30                   9                      9

H Daly                                    49                   8                      13

K Bailey                                 28                   8                      13                                          


Top Trainers – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

K Bailey                                 14                   4                      4

N Henderson                       11                   2                      7

D Skelton                              7                      2                      3

H Morrison                          2                      2                      0

A Honeyball                         2                      2                      0                     



Top Jockeys – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

R Johnson                             19                   5                      8

H Cobden                             19                   5                      5

P Brennan                            14                   5                      5

J Bowen                                12                   5                      4

J Burke                                  22                   4                      7         


Top Jockeys – Hurdles

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

R Johnson                             55                   15                   20

D Bass                                    25                   9                      9

H Skelton                              41                   8                      19

T O’Brien                              31                   5                      17

N de Boinville                      23                   5                      8                                                                                                         

Top Jockeys – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

D Bass                                    10                   3                      3

G Sheehan                            7                      2                      4

N de Boinville                      7                      2                      3

A Tinkler                               5                      2                      2

B Andrews                            3                      2                      1                                                   

Course Address

Ludlow Race Course Ltd





A Guide To Ludlow Racce Course

Bet £10 on Horse Racing and get another £40 of bets

BetVictor are giving all New Players £40 of bets when you sign up and Bet your first £10.

You will need to opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet on Horse Racing at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account.

100% Matched Deposit Bonus up to £100

SportsNation – The Cashback Bookmaker – offer different bets across its Sportsbook and Casino every day. Not only that but each bet you place will earn you points that you can redeem for other offers including cash back, deposit bonuses and Free Bets. The latest offer allows you a matched First Deposit Bonus of 100% up to £100!

New Player Offer – Bet £10 get £30 in Free Bets

This offer is only available to New Players to William Hill and consists of £30 in free bets and a £10 bonus to use in their online casino. To qualify for this offer you must enter the promo code C40 when you sign up.

This guide to Ludlow Race Course should now help you to make more informed choices when you are deciding which bets to place. Using this in conjunction with our Daily Free Tips could help you get the edge over the bookies!

Why not sign up to one of our Partner Online Bookmakers and claim a New Player reward?

And dont forget – if you want to know our own Free Daily Tips you can follow us on our Twitter feed.

Is this Guide To Ludlow Race Course not what you were looking for? Click here to go back to our Racecourse Guides and have a look at another UK race course.