A Guide to Lingfield Park Race Course

A Guilde To Lingfield Park Race Course

Set in the Surrey countryside, Lingfield is one of only five all weather race tracks in the United Kingdom. The track is nestled inside a traditional turf course meaning that Lingfield can provide horse racing meetings throughout the year.

The all weather track is made of Polytrack which is a mixture or recycled rubber, carpets, glue and sand. The whole coating is covered in wax.

The turf track was opened in 1890 by the Edward VII, who was the Prince of Wales at the time and was only used for Jumps racing. It is the only racecourse in the United Kingdom that offers all three types of racing – Flat All Weather, Flat turf and National Hunt.

The course is used to host both the Derby trials and the Oaks trials which are run every May. Horses that win either of these races usually go on to do well in the senior races. 

The All Weather course is a left handed oval cum triangle shape that fits inside the turf courses. It measures about a mile and 2 furlongs all the way around and has sharp turns. Half the track is flat with the other half comprising of a slight hill and then a downhill turn to the final straight.

The Flat turf course utilises a spur that facilitates sprint races. The rest of the track follows on around the outside of the All Weather course and has the same geological traits as the All Weather course. Including the added spur, the course is just over 1 mile and 4 furlongs in distance.

Also left handed, the Jumps course follows the path other the other two courses but includes 9 fences for horses and jockeys to negotiate.

Bullet Points

  • Only course to offer three different types of racing
  • All left hand courses
  • 9 fences on the Jumps course
  • Mainly flat with a hill before the final downhill bend into the run in

Map of Lingfield Park Racecourse

Map of Lingfield Park for daily racing tips

Statistics – Last Three Years

Top Trainers – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

A King                                    7                      2                      2

N Gifford                              4                      2                      2

N King                                    4                      2                      1

A Hales                                  5                      1                      3

N Williams                            6                      1                      2


Top Trainers – Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

R Hannon                             308                 55                   112

A Watson                              260                 52                   110

M Johnston                          227                 48                   89

J Gosden                               140                 43                   64

W Haggas                             114                 33                   54                  



Top Jockeys – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

L Aspell                                  7                      4                      2

T Cannon      `                       9                      3                      4

P Fuller                                  9                      2                      5

J Moore                                 11                   2                      4

H Cobden                             9                      2                      4         


Top Jockeys – Hurdle

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

G Sheehan                            11                   6                      5

L Ansell                                  15                   5                      5

A Coleman                            13                   5                      4

J McGrath                             5                      3                      1

J Moore                                 23                   2                      9                                                                                             


Top Jockeys – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

L Aspell                                  10                   3                      6

P Brennan                            3                      2                      1

N de Boinville                      2                      2                      0

T Cannon                              6                      1                      2

K Woods                               3                      1                      2


Top Jockeys – Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

L Morris                                548                 66                   193

T Marquand                         340                 58                   118

A Kirby                                  327                 55                   136

O Murphy                            260                 53                   117

H Doyle                                 322                 48                   118


Course Address

Lingfield Park

Racecourse Road




A Guide To Lingfield Race Course

Bet £10 on Horse Racing and get another £40 of bets

BetVictor are giving all New Players £40 of bets when you sign up and Bet your first £10.

You will need to opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet on Horse Racing at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account.

100% Matched Deposit Bonus up to £100

SportsNation – The Cashback Bookmaker – offer different bets across its Sportsbook and Casino every day. Not only that but each bet you place will earn you points that you can redeem for other offers including cash back, deposit bonuses and Free Bets. The latest offer allows you a matched First Deposit Bonus of 100% up to £100!

New Player Offer – Bet £10 get £30 in Free Bets

This offer is only available to New Players to William Hill and consists of £30 in free bets and a £10 bonus to use in their online casino. To qualify for this offer you must enter the promo code C40 when you sign up.

This guide to Lingfield Park Race Course should now help you to make more informed choices when you are deciding which bets to place. Using this in conjunction with our Daily Free Tips could help you get the edge over the bookies!

Why not sign up to one of our Partner Online Bookmakers and claim a New Player reward?

And dont forget – if you want to know our own Free Daily Tips you can follow us on our Twitter feed.

Is this Guide To Lingfield Park Race Course not what you were looking for? Click here to go back to our Racecourse Guides and have a look at another UK race course.