A Guide to Leicester Race Course

A Guide To Leicester Race Course

Located in Oadby, Leicester racecourse is a large oval course measuring almost 2 miles long. The course hosts both Flat racing and National Hunt racing over jumps. The course opened in 1883.

Depending on the type of race there are a different number of obstacles to over come. There are 10 jumps, including 2 open ditches and a water jump for National Hunt races and 6 fences for the Hurdles races. Both courses are right handed.

The Flat racing course is about 1 mile at 6 furlongs with a downhill slant for the first three furlongs. The Jumps course is, whilst generally using the same circuit is more undulating with a gradual uphill run in over three furlongs.

Highlight races include the King Richard II Stakes, which is open to horses that are 4 years old and upwards. It is races on the Flat over 7 furlongs. In December the Silver Fox Handicap Chase is the highlight of the National Hunt meetings at Leicester. This race is run over a distance of 2 miles and 4 furlongs and open to horses of fours old and upwards.

Race meetings occur all year round at Leicester

Bullet Points

  • 2 Right handed courses
  • Flat Course is downhill then flat
  • Jumps course is undulating and then uphill to finish
  • 10 Fences on the Jumps course including open ditches
  • 6 hurdles on the Hurdles course

Map of Leicester Racecourse

Map of Leicester Racecourse for daily racing tips

Statistics – Last Three Years

Top Trainers – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

T George                               13                   6                      3

D Skelton                              9                      6                      3

R Dickin                                 16                   3                      9

M Scudamore                     5                      3                      2

G Moore                               5                      3                      1                                 


Top Trainers – Hurdle

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

P Hobbs                                10                   5                      4

N Twiston-Davies               14                   4                      7

D Skelton                              15                   4                      5

A Stronge                             11                   4                      5

O Murphy                            9                      4                      4                                 


Top Trainers – Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

R Fahey                                 86                   16                   33

M Johnston                          70                   16                   27

R Hannon                             97                   14                   34

P Evans                                  54                   9                      24

M Bell                                    38                   9                      9                                             


Top Jockeys – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

H Skelton                              6                      4                      2

S Twiston-Davies                16                   3                      10

A Heskin                                7                      3                      2

C Gethings                            4                      3                      1

J Quinlan                               15                   2                      7         


Top Jockeys – Hurdle

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

H Skelton                              12                   4                      3

C Gethings                            15                   3                      6

R Johnson                             10                   3                      6

S Bowen                                8                      3                      3

T Scudamore                       15                   2                      10                                                                                          


Top Jockeys – Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

J Crowley                              76                   19                   22

S De Sousa                           58                   11                   25

P McDonald                         57                   11                   21

B Curtis                                  57                   9                      20

F Berry                                  46                   9                      15


Course Address

Leicester Racecourse Co Ltd




A Guide To Leicester Race Course

Bet £10 on Horse Racing and get another £40 of bets

BetVictor are giving all New Players £40 of bets when you sign up and Bet your first £10.

You will need to opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet on Horse Racing at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account.

100% Matched Deposit Bonus up to £100

SportsNation – The Cashback Bookmaker – offer different bets across its Sportsbook and Casino every day. Not only that but each bet you place will earn you points that you can redeem for other offers including cash back, deposit bonuses and Free Bets. The latest offer allows you a matched First Deposit Bonus of 100% up to £100!

New Player Offer – Bet £10 get £30 in Free Bets

This offer is only available to New Players to William Hill and consists of £30 in free bets and a £10 bonus to use in their online casino. To qualify for this offer you must enter the promo code C40 when you sign up.

This guide to Leicester Race Course should now help you to make more informed choices when you are deciding which bets to place. Using this in conjunction with our Daily Free Tips could help you get the edge over the bookies!

Why not sign up to one of our Partner Online Bookmakers and claim a New Player reward?

And dont forget – if you want to know our own Free Daily Tips you can follow us on our Twitter feed.

Is this Guide To Leicester Race Course not what you were looking for? Click here to go back to our Racecourse Guides and have a look at another UK race course.