A Guide to Doncaster Race Course

A Guide To Doncaster Race Course

Doncaster racecourse is also known as the Town Moor course and hosts 2 of the 36 Annual Group 1 flat races – the St Leger Stakes and the Racing Post Trophy.

Records show that a racecourse was established at Doncaster in 1614 and so it is fitting that it hosts two of the oldest horse races in the World.

The Doncaster Cup is one of these, and it is also part of the Stayers Triple Crown along with the Ascot Gold Cup and the Goodwood Cup. The Doncaster Cup is run over 2 miles, 1 furlong and 197 yards each September and is open to any horse aged three years and over.

The other race is the St Leger Stakes. First run in 1776 it is now the worlds oldest Classic horse race. It is run over a distance of 1 mile, 6 furlongs and 115 yards and is open to 3 year old horses. The St Leger is also the final leg of the English Triple Crown – the other two races in that are the 2000 Guineas and The Derby.

The Doncaster course itself is a left handed track that measures 1 mile and 7.5 furlongs and is very flat.  It runs both Flat racing and National Hunt jump racing. The course is pear shaped with a two starting spurs of varying lengths.

There are 11 fences per circuit of Doncaster racecourse.


Bullet Points

  • Left Handed course
  • Long Pear Shaped circuit of almost 2 miles in length
  • 11 Jump Fences per circuit
  • Home to the St Leger

Map Of Doncaster Racecourse

map of Doncaster Racecourse for daily racing tips

Statistics – Last Three Years

Top Trainers – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

D Skelton                              24                   6                      9

C Longsdon                          19                   4                      11

A King                                    22                   4                      10

P Nicholls                              21                   4                      9

N Richards                            12                   4                      6                                 


Top Trainers – Hurdles

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

D Skelton                              47                   9                      16

M Henderson                      28                   8                      8

B Pauling                               28                   7                      6

D McCain Jr                          27                   5                      9

E Lavelle                                17                   5                      6


Top Trainers – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

T George                               5                      1                      3

K Bailey                                 3                      1                      2

D Skelton                              4                      1                      1

O Murphy                            2                      1                      1

B Ellison                                 2                      1                      1


Top Trainers – Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

R Varian                                88                   21                   38

R Fahey                                 208                 20                   77

R Hannon                             170                 16                   70

M Johnston                          89                   15                   41

W Haggas                             58                   13                   22


Top Jockeys – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

B Hughes                              35                   4                      19

H Brooke                              15                   4                      7

A Coleman                            13                   4                      2

D Cook                                  13                   3                      8

W Hutchinson                     12                   3                      5         


Top Jockeys – Hurdles

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

L Aspell                                  26                   8                      9

N de Boinville                      23                   7                      3

H Skelton                              22                   6                      8

B Hughes                              45                   5                      18

D Bass                                    13                   5                      4



Top Jockeys – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

K Woods                               4                      2                      1

G Sheehan                            4                      1                      2

J Burke                                  3                      1                      0

P Brennan                            2                      1                      0

N de Boinville                      2                      1                      0


Top Jockeys – Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

A Atzeni                                115                 23                   41

D Tudhope                           100                 20                   43

P McDonald                         126                 18                   51

R Moore                                76                   18                   28

J Crowley                              67                   16                   22


Course Address

Doncaster Racecourse

The Grandstand

Leger Way



A Guide To Doncaster Race Course

Bet £10 on Horse Racing and get another £40 of bets

BetVictor are giving all New Players £40 of bets when you sign up and Bet your first £10.

You will need to opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet on Horse Racing at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account.

100% Matched Deposit Bonus up to £100

SportsNation – The Cashback Bookmaker – offer different bets across its Sportsbook and Casino every day. Not only that but each bet you place will earn you points that you can redeem for other offers including cash back, deposit bonuses and Free Bets. The latest offer allows you a matched First Deposit Bonus of 100% up to £100!

New Player Offer – Bet £10 get £30 in Free Bets

This offer is only available to New Players to William Hill and consists of £30 in free bets and a £10 bonus to use in their online casino. To qualify for this offer you must enter the promo code C40 when you sign up.

This guide to Doncaster Race Course should now help you to make more informed choices when you are deciding which bets to place. Using this in conjunction with our Daily Free Tips could help you get the edge over the bookies!

Why not sign up to one of our Partner Online Bookmakers and claim a New Player reward?

And dont forget – if you want to know our own Free Daily Tips you can follow us on our Twitter feed.

Is this Guide To Doncaster Race Course not what you were looking for? Click here to go back to our Racecourse Guides and have a look at another UK race course.