A Guide to Carlisle Race Course

A Guide To Carlisle Race Course

Carlisle Racecourse is situated in the village of Blackwell in Cumbria which has been on its present site since 1904.

The course is a right handed circuit that measures 1 mile and 4 furlongs in length. It hosts Flat racing in the Summer and National Hunt racing in the Winter.

Carlisle hosts a few notable races. The Carlisle Bell, which is a Flat race run in June, is one of the oldest horse races in existence with the race dating all the way back to 1599. It is open to horses aged 3 years and upwards and is run over a distance of 7 furlongs and 200 yards.

In terms of National Hunt racing, the Houghton Mares Chase which is run in December, is open to horses aged four years and older and takes place over a distance of 2 miles and four furlongs. The feature race at Carlisle over jumps though is the Colin Parker Memorial Chase, which takes place every November over a course measuring just over 2 miles and 4 furlongs.

The course itself has nine fences and features a stiff uphill finish of just over three furlongs and due to its layout offers a good test of stamina to many horses, especially two year olds.

Bullet Points

  • Right Handed track
  • Measures 1 mile and 4 furlongs in length
  • Nine Fences
  • Stiff 4 furlong uphill finish

Map Of Carlisle Racecourse

Map of Carlisle Racecourse for Daily Racing Tips

Statistics – Last Three Years

Top Trainers – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

S Smith                                  40                   5                      17

B Ellison                                 12                   5                      5

L Russell                                34                   4                      14

W Coltherd                          17                   4                      9

N Alexander                         18                   4                      7


Top Trainers – Hurdles

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

N Richards                            28                   10                   7

S Crawford                           15                   6                      6

N Twiston-Davies               9                      6                      2

M Hammond                       36                   5                      10

J Ewart                                  12                   5                      3


Top Trainers – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

N Richards                            6                      4                      1

S Crawford                           10                   3                      4

D McCain Jr                          10                   2                      6

K Dalgleish                            7                      1                      4

D Whillians                           5                      1                      4                                 



Top Trainers – Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

R Fahey                                 138                 20                   56

T Easterby                            196                 20                   54

K Dalgleish                            142                 19                   48

K Burke                                 67                   12                   30

M Dods                                 106                 11                   43                              


Top Jockeys – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

B Hughes                              63                   7                      31

D Cook                                  39                   6                      16

R Chapman                          29                   4                      14

C O’Farrell                            15                   4                      4

S Coltherd                            18                   3                      8


Top Jockeys – Hurdles

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

B Hughes                              74                   14                   33

C Nichol                                 25                   5                      6

D McMenamin                    21                   5                      6

S Quinlan                              39                   4                      14

R Johnson                             16                   4                      9                     


Top Jockeys – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

B Hughes                              21                   9                      6

R Day                                     5                      3                      1

A Heskin                                3                      2                      0

C Bewley                               9                      1                      5

J Colliver                               5                      1                      4                     


Top Jockeys – Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

B Curtis                                  100                 22                   39

P Mulrennan                       107                 18                   34

J Fanning                              53                   11                   22

T Hamilton                           64                   10                   24

K Stott                                   52                   10                   16      


Course Address

Carlisle Racecourse

Durdar Road


A Guide to Carlisle Race Course

Bet £10 on Horse Racing and get another £40 of bets

BetVictor are giving all New Players £40 of bets when you sign up and Bet your first £10.

You will need to opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet on Horse Racing at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account.

100% Matched Deposit Bonus up to £100

SportsNation – The Cashback Bookmaker – offer different bets across its Sportsbook and Casino every day. Not only that but each bet you place will earn you points that you can redeem for other offers including cash back, deposit bonuses and Free Bets. The latest offer allows you a matched First Deposit Bonus of 100% up to £100!

New Player Offer – Bet £10 get £30 in Free Bets

This offer is only available to New Players to William Hill and consists of £30 in free bets and a £10 bonus to use in their online casino. To qualify for this offer you must enter the promo code C40 when you sign up.

This guide to Carlisle Race Course should now help you to make more informed choices when you are deciding which bets to place. Using this in conjunction with our Daily Free Tips could help you get the edge over the bookies!

Why not sign up to one of our Partner Online Bookmakers and claim a New Player reward?

And dont forget – if you want to know our own Free Daily Tips you can follow us on our Twitter feed.

Is this Guide To Carlisle Race Course not what you were looking for? Click here to go back to our Racecourse Guides and have a look at another UK race course.