A Guide to Bangor Race Course

A Guide to Bangor Race Course

Situated near Wrexham in Wales, Bangor opened as a horse racing venue in 1859. It is a left handed National Hunt Jumps Racecourse that provides racing all year round although most of the racing takes place in the late Autumn and Winter. There are usually about 15 meetings per year at Bangor.

Unusually it is the only Racecourse in Britain that doesn’t have a Grandstand.

The course is somewhere between an oval and a triangle in shape and has 9 fences. The course is regarded as a tricky one to race at because it is comparatively narrow and has some sharp turns. Its is also a small track, measuring only 1 mile and 4 furlongs all the way round with a final run in of only a single furlong.

As a low key venue, the most valuable race that Bangor holds is the Anne Duchess of Westminster Memorial handicap Steeple Chase which carries a purse of £26,000.

Bagor also hosts a lot of Point to Point racing, which takes place inside the main track, and runs in a right handed direction, which is the opposite to the main racing.

The owners of Bangor Racecourse also own Chester Racecourse.

Bullet Points

  • Opened in 1859
  • Left Handed Course
  • 1 mile and 4 furlongs long
  • 9 fences
  • Narrow track

Map of Bangor Racecourse

Map of Bangor Racecourse

Statistics – Last Three Years

Top Trainers – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

D McCain Jr                          39                   6                      10

D Skelton                              22                   6                      8

J Candish                               21                   6                      8

G Hanmer                             11                   4                      5                     

D Rees                                   9                      4                      3


Top Trainers – Hurdles

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

D McCain Jr                          128                 35                   54

D Skelton                              52                   10                   15

A King                                    21                   5                      10

O Greenall                            53                   4                      13

H Daly                                    13                   4                      4



Top Trainers – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

N Twiston-Davies               10                   3                      3

H Daly                                    9                      2                      5

N Henderson                       8                      2                      4

G McPherson                      3                      2                      1

K Bailey                                 4                      2                      0                                                         

Top Jockeys – Chase

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

S Quinlan                              16                   5                      7

H Skelton                              17                   5                      6

A Heskin                                14                   5                      4

B Hughes                              29                   4                      9

P Brennan                            13                   4                      7


Top Jockeys – Hurdles

                                                Runners        Wins               Places

B Hughes                              62                   20                   20

W Kennedy                          44                   7                      19

H Skelton                              37                   7                      15

L Murtagh                            22                   6                      6

R Johnson                             31                   5                      14


Top Jockeys – National Hunt Flat

                                                Runners        Wins               Places


J O’Neill Jr                             3                      2                      0

D Jacob                                 6                      1                      4

B Hughes                              7                      1                      3

R Johnson                             4                      1                      2

D Bass                                    6                      1                      1                     


Course Address

Bangor-On-Dee Racecourse


Nr Wrexham


LL13 0DA     

A guide To bangor Race Course

Bet £10 on Horse Racing and get another £40 of bets

BetVictor are giving all New Players £40 of bets when you sign up and Bet your first £10.

You will need to opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet on Horse Racing at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account.

100% Matched Deposit Bonus up to £100

SportsNation – The Cashback Bookmaker – offer different bets across its Sportsbook and Casino every day. Not only that but each bet you place will earn you points that you can redeem for other offers including cash back, deposit bonuses and Free Bets. The latest offer allows you a matched First Deposit Bonus of 100% up to £100!

New Player Offer – Bet £10 get £30 in Free Bets

This offer is only available to New Players to William Hill and consists of £30 in free bets and a £10 bonus to use in their online casino. To qualify for this offer you must enter the promo code C40 when you sign up.

This guide to Bangor Race course should now help you to make more informed choices when you are deciding which bets to place. Using this in conjunction with our Daily Free Tips could help you get the edge over the bookies!

Why not sign up to one of our Partner Online Bookmakers and claim a New Player reward?

And dont forget – if you want to know our own Free Daily Tips you can follow us on our Twitter feed.

Is this Guide To Bangor Race Course not what you were looking for? Click here to go back to our Racecourse Guides and have a look at another UK race course.